A gluten-free diet is recommended primarily to people who can not tolerate gluten. It involves a series of sacrifices, because it excludes from the everyday menu products containing this particular ingredient. In that case, what products can be consumed and which should be avoided? And what exactly is this gluten, which so much is said about, and not everyone knows it to the end? It's worth to learn something more about it.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a mixture of proteins that are contained in wheat, rye and barley. Cereals, which contain a large amount of gluten, are readily used in the bakery industry. This is due to the fact that bread baked with these flours is more flexible, lighter and less compacted. Currently, it is added to cured meats, spices, highly processed foods. The question is - is gluten healthy, and maybe harms the body? Certainly people who are burdened with such diseases as Celiac disease and Duhring must certainly avoid it. It should be remembered that gluten is also the main food allergen. If someone is allergic to gluten, practically the symptoms of this condition will appear immediately. Then you may have breathing problems or skin changes. Some people may only be hypersensitive to gluten. Symptoms that are associated with hypersensitivity include: abdominal pain, eczema, headache, feeling of constant fatigue, confusion, diarrhea, bloating, constipation, anemia, numbness and pain in the limbs, weakness, burning in the esophagus, nausea, feeling of being in the intestines or inflammation of the tongue .
we recommend: Dukan's diet. Is it worth trusting her?
In view of the above, gluten is not a valuable protein in terms of food. It must be stressed that it is low in amino acids. It really consists primarily of proline and glutamine. It should be emphasized, however, that gluten has unusual properties. It is thanks to him that the bread is so soft and springy.
Gluten-free diet - what to eat and what not to eat
People who must use a gluten-free diet or simply want to, should avoid a range of foods. They can eat only specified. Therefore, special tables have been prepared that include both products that can be eaten and those that should be avoided.
Gluten products are - wheat, spelled, spinach, flathead, triticale, rye, barley, oats, flour, semolina, couscous, pearl barley, Masurian and pearl, muesli, ready instant cereals, bread, pasta, dumplings, dumplings, pancakes, cakes , cakes, confectionery made from flour. In addition, the list should include dairy products as - dairy drinks with the addition of barley sodium, as well as cereal grains. Gluten is present in - wheat germ oil, breaded vegetables, fried breadcrumbs, coffee, oat cocoa, sweetened with barley soda and beer. Gluten contains - soy sauce, each soup is seasoned with flour, soup with noodles or a cast dough.
Gluten-free diet allows you to eat a variety of products, among them are such as - natural gluten-free cereals (rice, corn, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, quinoa), cereals, flakes and cereal flours, corn starch, potato starch, tapioca flour, bread and pasta made of gluten-free flour, corn crisps, cornflakes, rice wafers. In addition, the list of products that you can consume - fresh unprocessed meat, fish and eggs, milk, yogurt, kefir, buttermilk, white and yellow cheese. You can also use all fats except those from wheat germ. A gluten-free diet combines all vegetables, both fresh, frozen or canned, but without additives. Similarly, the list of gluten-free products fills all fresh, frozen and candied fruits. Gluten-free diet also includes the following products - sugar, jam, honey, hard candy, cakes and biscuits baked on gluten-free products, jelly, pudding from potato flour.
It should also be remembered that there are products that may or may not contain gluten. Here they are - gluten-free cereals, which are produced in plants processing gluten grains, sausages, canned meat and fish, sausages, sausages, black puddings, ready-made hamburgers, meatballs, yoghurts, flavored buttermilk, yogurt drinks, reduced-fat dairy products, cheese processed, cream with thickeners, some cheese, ready cheese curd, mayonnaise, sauces, ready-made salads, tomato puree, some canned beans, soy vegetarian products, dried fruit, fruit batter, chewing gum, jelly, stuffed candy, chocolate bars ready-made puddings, ice-cream, chocolate, crisps. On the list of products that may contain gluten, you can find such as - cheap soluble coffee, drinking chocolate, fruit and vegetable drinks, alcohols with flavors, vegetable vegeta, seasoning mixes, mustards, ketchups, all types of powdered sauces, dips and dressings, powdered soups, and even some bouillon cubes. When choosing to shop, you must be careful and carefully look at the products on the shelves and in the refrigerators. Please also note the markings on the packaging.
Gluten has its advantages, but it also does not lack flaws. That is why not every organism tolerates it. That is why some people must pay special attention to what they eat, what products they prepare for their meals. The above list of gluten-free products containing gluten and those that may contain it will help you determine your daily menu. Today, there is no problem with buying gluten-free products. They are easily available in supermarkets. They already have their shelf. Many people opt for a gluten-free diet not because they do not tolerate this ingredient, but to lose extra pounds. The only question is whether diet Gluten-free works in this area? Proponents of this method believe that people who only eat whole grains, provide 400 with extra calories every day. For this reason, their weight is increasing. Some people think that by eliminating gluten products, you can lose unnecessary kilograms and thereby make your body more attractive. The only question is - how long will a person slimming with this method be able to give up gluten products, and if, if he returns to the standard gluten-free food, at least in the gluten section, the weight will not increase? A lot depends on the body, but it usually leads to a yo-yo effect.
Recently updated by